A K1000 and an SRT 202 go for a walk in the woods…

Yesterday my new batteries arrived for both of my beautiful old SLRs. One is a Pentax K1000 that was my dad’s, it was the camera that took all of our baby photos, and the other is a wonderful Minolta SRT 202 that I inherited from my granddad. I recently bought an assortment of various expired rolls of film from eBay.

To celebrate my two now-working manual cameras, I went for a walk to the woods to test them out.

I loaded my Pentax with old Fujifilm, which developed with beautiful colours and amazing emerald undertones. While my Minolta had an expired roll of Kodak film, with developed with warmer, softer colours. I can’t wait to play with more types of film so I can see the effects each produces.

Look at these colours!

Purple flowers on garden path, expired Fujifilm, taken with Pentax K1000

(Expired Fujifilm, taken with a Pentax K1000

And this typically British summer scene, to think some parts of the country are still supposedly in drought…

Rain on car roof, taken with Pentax K1000

(Expired Fujifilm, taken with a Pentax K1000)

There was this beautiful spread of wild flowers in a garden on the way to the woods.

wild flowers taken on expired Fujifilm, with Pentax K1000

(Expired Fujifilm, taken with a Pentax K1000)

The gateway between mundanity and green heaven.

Gate to the woods, expired Fujifilm, taken with Pentax K1000

(Expired Fujifilm, taken with a Pentax K1000)

Mind the stinging nettles on the way through!

Nettles at the gate to the woods, expired Fujifilm, Pentax K1000)

(Expired Fujifilm, taken with a Pentax K1000)

The path to lushness.

A path through the woods, expired Kodak film, taken with Pentax K1000)

(Expired Fujifilm, taken with Pentax K1000)

Wild cherries, glowing in the trees. See the warmer tones of the Kodak film?

wild cherries in woods, expired Kodak film, taken with Minolta SRT 202

(Expired Kodak film, taken with Minolta SRT 202)

The sun came out for my walk, warm and delicious.

leaves in sunlight Expired Kodak film, taken with Minolta SRT 202

(Expired Kodak film, taken with Minolta SRT 202)

Bramble shoot, taken with expired Kodak film, with a Pentax K1000

(Expired Fujifilm, taken on a Pentax K1000)

leaves and sky, expired Kodak film, taken with Minolta SRT 202

(Expired Kodak film, taken with Minolta SRT 202)

And then I experimented with some double exposures, I love this one. You can’t really tell, but it’s two shots of the same fern from two different angles.

double exposure of ferns, taken expired Kodak film and a Minolta SRT 202

(Expired Kodak film, double exposure, taken with Minolta SRT 202)

Another of my favourites, the colours came out so rich and vibrant!

cow parsley, taken on expired Kodak film, with a Pentax K1000

(Expired Fujifilm, taken with a Pentax K1000)

On the way home my eye was caught by textures.

Chain link fence, taken on expired Kodak film, with Pentax K1000

(Expired Fujifilm, taken with Pentax K1000)

And shadows.

Shadow on pavement, expired Fujifilm, taken with Pentax K1000

(Expired Fujifilm, taken with Pentax K1000)

And that was the end of my rolls of film.

Now that I know both cameras are working perfectly I’ll be playing with them regularly!

For now I’m one very happy clicker.

2 thoughts on “A K1000 and an SRT 202 go for a walk in the woods…

Leave a Reply

