Spring has truly sprung!

I love spring more than any other time of year.

It’s the season I eagerly wait for, and year after year, it never disappoints.

leaves and flowers with the sun shining through them, creating a halo of light and some camera flare

(Photo taken at 1/4000, f/1.8, ISO 200)

After about 5 months of cold, grey, drizzly English winter (okay, so technically not 5 months, but winter here kind of stretches across three seasons), suddenly one morning you pull apart the curtains, and the grey sky has become blue. The sun is shining, and glorious green has emerged seemingly overnight.

Green spring fig leaves against a blurred background of a church window stretching upwards blue.

(Photo taken at 1/320, f/2.2, ISO 200)

Within a couple of weeks, spring is in full throes. Fresh green grass and leaves stand out against bright, clear blue; with soft white and pink blossom coating every tree like icing.

pink and white blossom with bokeh background

(Photo taken at 1/2000, f/1.8, ISO 200)

Days grow longer, birds fly past with twigs to build their nests. I saw the first butterfly float by the other day. Watching all this unfolding, feeling the air full of life, and the sun on my skin for the first time this year, I feel myself coming back to life as well.

A small pink blossom tree against a brick wall with a giant tree shadow across it

(Photo taken at 1/800, f/4.5, ISO 200)

I wonder what this year is going to bring.

One thought on “Spring has truly sprung!

  1. Spring! I love Spring. And these photos are so gorgeous, I love the first one especially. It’s perfect!

    The little dots of blur on the leaves in the background are my favourite parts. And how all the veins on the leaves in the foreground have lit up.

    Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful.

Leave a comment